Friday: In defense of my journal... // 2003-07-18 // 8:10 a.m.

guestbook
current
archive
diaryland

Happy Birthday, Ozzie...where ever you are in Budapest right now...lol...

Yesterday, I was asked why I bother to even keep an online journal. My immediate and flippant response is "because I can"...which, is a poor response at best, since there are a myriad of reasons why I do what I do.

Foremost, I think this is a sort of cathartic therapy for me...as I suspect Wraith would hope it would be when he first suggested it to me. This is one of the few places where I can truly be "me"...I can express my feelings of the moment, my emotions, my fears, my joys, my moments of delight as well as my moments of sorrow. Granted, it is a rather public venue...but there is a certain amount of anonimity and that allows me to be free...even though there are people who know me who are reading this...people I would hope and trust to be true friends and not betray me in ways that would harm me.

Another reason why I write is so I can communicate with others...and tell my daily occurances once, rather than over and over and over again.

And, yet another reason is because I truly believe someone else will be able to read this and say..."y'see, my life isn't all THAT bad...after all, if this tortured soul can carry on...then I should be able to do just fine!" Well, okay, that one is a sort of tongue-in-cheek sort of response, but still somewhat truthful.

I write because I want to write. I write because I can write. I write because I should write. I write because keeping all this bottled in would be worse. I write to acknowledge that I'm still alive, thinking, breathing, living, and able to be myself in a tiny portion of the universe. I write.

So, endeth the lesson...


Next // Previous