Monday: weekend recap // 2003-10-13 // 10:06 a.m.

guestbook
current
archive
diaryland

It's been eons, I know...

This past weekend, on the spur of the moment, we went home to my parents' house to visit and whatnot.

We drive up to the house to find that the driveway is full of cars I don't recognize. As we walk towards the house, I can hear the reverb of music and I remember that my parents' bought a karaoke machine...in the house, it's full of people all hanging out, waiting to sing the songs of their choice on the karaoke machine. My husband beats a hasty retreat towards a bedroom with all of our stuff. My son clings to me (he just woke up) and peeks out from behind my breast to look at the strangers he doesn't know. And, the people are all chatting with me, as the strains of "Brandy" waft through the house. It was surreal. We got there at 10pm...they don't leave until midnight. But, by that time, I've already sung two solos ("Evergreen" and "True Colours") and two duets ("Crazy" and "Crazy for you") with another woman. Surreal.

The next day, I left with the hubby to go book shopping while my son stayed home with my parents. It was an enjoyable day, all things considered. I even went to mass with my parents (they're in their church choir) with my son while my hubby went back out and went bookshopping w/out me. For supper, I introduced my parents to the joys of bell peppers and freshly made ranch dressing.

On Sunday, my sisters came to visit and they went grocery shopping with me. We bought stuff so I could make a special chicken curry dish I hadn't made for ages. Then, we karaoked... a lot...lol...it was lots of fun.

And, now it's Monday and my boss just came back, unexpectedly.


Next // Previous