Tuesday: short weekend recap and other assorted stuff // 2003-07-29 // 8:35 a.m.

guestbook
current
archive
diaryland

It's Tuesday morning...and I had a lovely visit with my crazy family. My brother still is the same to me... I keep thinking he's still 16 and in high school...but the reality is that he's been off and growing up and learning how to be a man and all that stuff. It was fun getting to hang out with him and stuff. My parents are growing old gracefully...granted, my father had a couple of temper outbursts, especially when we weren't following his internal timeline, but things still turned out okay.

My hubby and I didn't have any fights the entire weekend, which was a miracle unto itself. We usually have one before we even leave, which usually culminates in his decision to not drive up there...I usually am able to talk him back into it. Still, this weekend was surprising.

I did have quite a few power struggles w/my son over what he could and could not do. It was weird, but I guess it's par for the course as he is getting older and testing the limits more. My little cousin kept asking if I liked being a mother. I kept telling her I did...even when I was in the middle of putting my son in "time out".

Everything else has been "quiet"... I think I have managed to scare people away as only I can. Gave me time to think about things...not that I came to any decisions...earth-shattering or otherwise.

Oh, the hearing on Friday went okay. I thought I'd be able to not get on the stand, but my boss was adamant about establishing the "chain of custody"... so I got called up anyhow. Was rather fascinating to be up in the witness booth...or whatever it's called. It blew two hours of my day, especially the funny part about our court reporter leaving before the hearing started and my boss hiring a stray court reporter on the spot (she had gotten booted from a courtroom where there was one too many...).

Okay, off to work...now that I've managed to write something for today.


Next // Previous