Wednesday, short follow-up of yesterday's events. // 2003-10-29 // 8:13 a.m.

guestbook
current
archive
diaryland

Had an initial talk with a divorce attorney yesterday, over the phone. He was suggested to me by another attorney I know and respect.

This attorney, JR, seems quite personable and smart. He asked me good questions about the basics of my marriage, including whether or not the hubby is a violent sort of man. I answered as truthfully as I could. I have an appointment to see him on Thursday. He wants me to make some lists (assets, debts, what I want from the divorce) and write down questions I might have.

I told work also, that I'm leaving. Had a meeting w/the senior partner and the office administrator. The sr. partner gave me unsolicited advice, the foremost being that I needed to see a divorce atty now rather than after the fact...he cautioned me against leaving without speaking with one first. So, I am.

The ad will have gone in for my job today. Ideally, they want me to train the new person before I leave, but we don't know if that will happen.

I want to go...I want to be gone...I want the chance to start over with my son and without fear...that's all... but now I am required to think about things like hubby's state pension and whether or not I am entitled to part of it...I don't want it...but they (attys and people who are already divorced) are all telling me that I'd be a fool to just give it up. Oh well.

Leaving now...coffee making time.


Next // Previous